Why we love... the British Grand Prix | Formula 1®
Formula1.com - Mon 8 Jul 21:43 GMT

Silverstone is the shortest trip of the season for most of the Formula 1 teams. Here's why we love the race - and British Grand Prix venue - so much...

  Fresh from the first pair of back-to-back races of the season, the majority of Formula 1 teams take their shortest trip of the season with the British Grand Prix.

  Senna's brilliance at Silverstone, 1993 British Grand Prix The first Formula 1 World Championship race was held at Silverstone back in 1950, and since then it has gone on to host the British Grand Prix on 52 occasions, doing so continuously since 1987.

  Keke Rosberg’s pole position lap in 1985 saw him set the fastest qualifying lap in F1 history at the time as he averaged over 160mph, while two years later when the race returned it saw an iconic moment as Nigel Mansell hunted down and overtook team mate Nelson Piquet for the win.

  In fact, some of Mansell’s victories referenced earlier led to early track invasions, making it difficult for some drivers to complete the race and return to the pits… Lewis Hamilton has enjoyed crowd-surfing in front of large home support in recent years, as fans turn out in massive numbers come rain or shine.

  Hamilton won on two of those occasions - in 2016 and 2017 - to become the most successful driver at Silverstone with five British Grand Prix victories, but his first was arguably more memorable as he dominated in extremely wet conditions and after starting from fourth on the grid won by more than a minute over Nick Heidfeld and Rubens Barrichello, lapping everyone up to Kimi Raikkonen in fourth for Ferrari.

  It’s the home race for many Hamilton’s record is a hugely popular one at Silverstone as his home race, but it’s also the home race for a number of the teams as well.

  This year, the history of some of those teams will be celebrated at Silverstone, with the iconic fairytale championship-winning Brawn BGP001 running on Thursday, 10 years after the team now known as Mercedes tasted their shock success, while Williams will celebrate Sir Frank Williams’ 50th year as a Formula 1 Team Principal.